The app needs to know when you are coming home and when you are leaving so it can automatically open or close your garage door for you. You can always turn off these features in the app. If you turn them off, there’s no need for the app to track your location. However, automating your garage door so that it simply opens when you arrive home, and closes automatically if you forget to close it when you leave are two really great features you would lose if you decide not to allow the app to track your location.
You should also know that we don’t track your location. Nothing about your location comes back to us because that's not just wrong, it's creepy. The app on your phone simply needs to know when it should send the command to open or close your door. Your location information is not used for anything more than this. Period.